OSA Scholarship Program & Endowments

OSA Scholarship Program & Endowments

Posted on: November 13th, 2012   Topic: OSA News & Announcements

On March 2nd the OSA Executive Board approved the Oklahoma Sheriffs’ Association Scholarship Program.The fund will be established for the purpose of receiving, investing and dispensing of funds to provide college scholarships to qualified students who are committed to pursuing an academic degree at an Oklahoma college or university. Individuals will be applying for a $750.00 scholarship, a maximum of four scholarships will be awarded and presented each year at the Annual Training Conference and Exposition in June.


The Tom & Marye Kate Aldridge Foundation was founded in 1995 to honor Tom & Marye Kate Aldridge and pursue the ideals and standards by which they lived.

Marye Kate Aldridge was a teacher. She strongly believed that the only thing one can truly possess is education. All that follows springs from how that knowledge is put to use. The Aldridge Foundation supports innovative teaching methods that address common problems, and may be replicated in other venues. Providing an avenue for self-improvement is paramount in making grant decisions.

The Aldridge Foundation began their support of the OSA Scholarship program in 2011 by providing the funds for one scholarship,in 2012 they increased their donation providing two scholarships. In 2013 with matching funds from the OSA the Aldridge Foundation awarded six scholarships to deserving students. The Oklahoma Sheriffs’ Association is very appreciative of the support provided by Robert and Rusty Aldridge and the Aldridge Foundation.

Recipient’s of the 2013 Aldridge Foundation Awards were Kayle Brook Head, Carney OK; Keely Dawn Brown, Locust Grove OK; Amanda Jean Bates, Locust Grove OK; Jeremiah Luke Campbell, Beaver OK; Tyler Jay Mannering, Custer OK; and Amanda Nichole Jones, Wellston OK.

Vaughan Foods founded by Eugene and Edna Vaughan in 1961 is a diversified maker of fresh food products for the retail, institutional and foodservice markets. The company today is managed by Mark Vaughan, son of the founders and employees over 600 people in Oklahoma and several other states. The recipient of the Vaughan Foods scholarship was Caitlin Taylor Moore, Choctaw OK.

C and J’s Jewelers Started in 1973 in Don Correll’s garage with the help of his brother John. The appreciation of jewelery came from an interest in Geology, Spelunking, and Rock collecting. In 1974 the operation moved from the garage to a retail store at 5710 S. Pennsylvania. By 1980 business was booming and the present location of 8200 S. Western was built from the ground up as one of the largest retail fronts in the city. The recipient of the C and J’s Jewelers scholarship is Jonna Kay Whetsel, Del City Ok.

Frontier State Bank has been providing superior financial services to Oklahoma City and the surrounding metro area under the same local ownership that founded the bank in 1975. The recipient of the Frontier Bank scholarship is Cheyanne Michelle Jackson, Locust Grove OK.

Oklahoma Sheriffs’ Association awarded three scholarships this year. the recipient of the scholarships were Hunter Gene Meyers, Anadarko OK; Melissa Kimberly Knauf, Tulsa OK; and Cody Ryan Brewer, Maud OK.

 If you are a company or an individual wishing to donate or setup an endowment to fund the OSA Scholarship Program please contact the Oklahoma Sheriffs’ Association at 405-471-6049.

For additional information and application click here

Sheriff – Logan County – Sheriff Damon Devereaux Video

Sheriff Damon Deveraux shares with us the day that Deputy Sheriff David James Wade was killed in the line of duty from gunfire while serving an eviction notice.



OK Jailbirds

Local Gov

OK Teen Challenge

Please support our Sponsors

Stay Informed! Sign up to receive the Oklahoma Sheriffs' Association Newsletter